SUMMER HOURS END: Starting Sept. 7, designated libraries will return to regular Sunday hours. Learn more
GOOD NEWS! We are expanding hours for better service! Learn more
Home

New Reviews
NOVELLO
Fiction
Non-Fiction
Teen Corner
Graphic Novels

Special Features


Book Search
Booklists
What to Read
Reading Resources
My Reading Log
Celebrity Reviews
Meet the Author
Submit a Review

Stay in the Loop


Email Newsletter
RSS Feed RSS Feeds
Podcasts Podcasts
Buy Books
About Us
Contact Us

readers_club on TwitterGet our Tweets


The Life All Around me by Ellen Foster

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Gibbons, Kaye(2006)
The Life All Around me by Ellen Foster

My old friend, Ellen Foster, is home again with Kaye Gibbons' latest novel, The Life All Around Me by Ellen Foster. Ellen returns as a fifteen year old gifted student with a stable home. Although her childhood still haunts her, she is resilient with hope for the future. She even sets her sights on attending Harvard. Her compassionate spirit still shines through like sun breaking through the clouds. Ellen Foster is one of Kaye Gibbons' most wonderful creations. She is a study in contrasts, at once naive and wise beyond her years, plain spoken, often blunt yet fluent. Gibbons is a word master, her prose fluid and nourishing. For fans of Gibbons, The Life All Around Me by Ellen Foster is a long awaited, emotional and highly satisfying reunion.

Reviewed by Susan C., Independence Regional

Author InterviewRead the Author Interview with Kaye Gibbons

Add your comments about this book

Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Pinterest Tumblr Get Library RSS Feeds Bookmark and Share