HOLIDAY HOURS Christmas - All libraries will close at 5 p.m. 12/24 and all day 12/25 and 12/26. Learn more
Home

New Reviews
NOVELLO
Fiction
Non-Fiction
Teen Corner
Graphic Novels

Special Features


Book Search
Booklists
What to Read
Reading Resources
My Reading Log
Celebrity Reviews
Meet the Author
Submit a Review

Stay in the Loop


Email Newsletter
RSS Feed RSS Feeds
Podcasts Podcasts
Buy Books
About Us
Contact Us

readers_club on TwitterGet our Tweets


Recent Book Reviews

Page 1 of 4

This page is also available as an RSS Feed  RSS Feed.

1 of 4 pages
Not My Father's Son: A Memoir

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Cumming, Alan(2014)Recently Added Review
Not My Father's Son: A Memoir

In 2010, award-winning actor Alan Cumming appears on the British television show “Who Do You Think You Are,” a show that researches the genealogy of its subjects. Excited for information about the mysterious life and death of his maternal grandfather, Cumming receives a shocking phone call from his father just before filming begins that throws his personal and public life into turmoil. While publicly appearing on the show and discovering his grandfather`s secret life, Cumming privately wrestles with his father’s revelations and revisits the horrific abuse his father inflicted on him as a child. Written in a direct style with grace and humor, Cumming’s memoir is a powerful story of family secrets and personal triumph.

Reviewed by Bobbie M., Independence Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Biographies and Memoirs

Add your comments about this book


How to Build a Girl

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Moran, Caitlin(2014)Recently Added Review
How to Build a Girl

Johanna Morrigan has decided to reinvent herself. After humiliating herself on public television, the fourteen-year-old social outcast has a new pen name, gothic wardrobe, and scathing personality. Two years later, she’s smoking with her fellow music reviewers, drinking with famous musicians, and sleeping with whomever she fancies. Johanna thought this new life was something she always wanted, but she begins to doubt her motives. This coming-of-age story is set in the grungy musical scene of the 1990s, and its heroine is as hilarious as she is raunchy. Despite her flaws, you will find yourself rooting for Johanna and falling in love with her crazy life.

Reviewed by Kaitlyn M., Morrison Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Coming of Age

Add your comments about this book


Evermore

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Noel, Alyson(2009)Recently Added Review
Evermore
Young Adult

After a car accident claims her mother, father and sister, Ever is faced with moving in with her aunt and starting a whole new life. And if that wasn’t enough, she can now read the thoughts of others. Ever avoids people at all cost, wears the same hoodie everyday, headphones on and hood up to drown out all the jabber. She thinks she’s a freak until her sister visits her and tells her to pull it together. Then, one day, a new boy walks in to class. Little does Ever know that this new boy has been following her through all of her previous lives, and that he now has the opportunity to make her fall in love with him. Will she give in to his temptation and confide her secrets to him?

Reviewed by Lindsay P., Beatties Ford Road Branch

Feature See more titles featured in For those who love Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Feature See more titles featured in Page Turners for Reluctant Teen Readers

Add your comments about this book


The Good Girl

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Kubica, Mary(2014)Recently Added Review
The Good Girl

Mia Dennett is a young inner-city art teacher who considers herself the black sheep of her family. Her father is a high-profile judge, her mother is a quiet, controlled housewife, and her sister is on her way to becoming a prominent lawyer. When Mia disappears one night after her on-and-off boyfriend fails to show up for their date, no one except Mrs. Dennett is especially worried. With the help of a passionate detective, they begin to unravel family secrets that go deeper than they ever expected. For fans of Gone Girl, The Good Girl is a page-turning thriller with a shocking twist at the end.

Reviewed by Kaitlyn M., Morrison Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Thrillers

Feature See more titles featured in First Novels

Add your comments about this book


The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Flanagan, Richard(September 23, 2013)Recently Added Review
The Narrow Road to the Deep North

Set in a WWII Japanese slave labor camp, Flanagan’s dark, intense novel mainly follows Dorrigo Evans, an Australian surgeon struggling to save his fellow POWs from sickness and injury, only to send them out to work again in a hostile, tortuous environment. The story weaves between the present of Dorrigo’s dissatisfied life as a war hero and his past experiencing the horrors of war and the memories of the woman he left behind. The novel balances between the perspectives of the Australian prisoners and their Japanese captors, allowing the reader to understand both the pain of captivity and the motives behind the actions of their tormentors. The Narrow Road to the Deep North is more than historical fiction – it is a narrative on morals, loss, and the connectivity of all mankind.

Reviewed by Kaitlyn M., Morrison Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Down Under

Feature See more titles featured in Against All Odds: Stories of Survival

Feature See more titles featured in War is Hell

Feature See more titles featured in Historical Fiction

Add your comments about this book


Tell the Wolves I'm Home

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Brunt, Carol Rifka(2012)Recently Added Review
Tell the Wolves I'm Home

June Elbus is an outcast. She’s shy, socially awkward, and obsessed with the medieval era. The only one who has ever understood her is her Uncle Finn. When Finn dies of a serious illness that her mother won’t talk about, June is left alone clinging to her memories of her uncle. However, when June meets Finn’s “special friend” Toby she sees that she might have a way to stay connected to her beloved uncle. Carol Rifka Brunt masterfully tells a tale of sorrow, loss, and growing up set in the 1980’s. Written for adults but accessible to teens, Brunt’s debut novel is one that is sure to appeal to almost anyone seeking a heartfelt coming of age tale.

Reviewed by Sarah F., Matthews Branch

Feature See more titles featured in Tear Jerkers

Feature See more titles featured in Coming of Age

Feature See more titles featured in Adult Books for Teens

Feature See more titles featured in Sibling Rivalry

Add your comments about this book


When she woke

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Jordan, Hillary(2011)Recently Added Review
When she woke

In the not-too-distant future, Christian fundamentalists have taken over most of the United States. In this new future criminals are punished by having their skin color altered and being released back into society to attempt to survive in a world that doesn’t want them. Hannah is caught having an abortion and is sentenced to become a red—her crime being murder. Hannah struggles with losing her family, her identity, and her ideology all at once. Though she has lost seemingly everything, Hannah picks up the pieces and embarks on an exciting adventure which challenges everything that she knows. An interesting mix of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Scarlet Letter, When She Woke is a great read for fans of either.

Reviewed by Sarah F., Matthews Branch

Feature See more titles featured in Adult Books for Teens

Feature See more titles featured in Women of Science Fiction

Feature See more titles featured in Outside the Box Fiction for Women

Add your comments about this book


Worthy Brown's Daughter

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Margolin, Phillip(2014)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
Worthy Brown's Daughter

Thriller author Margolin “genre hops” to historical fiction in this novel about freedman Worthy Brown’s plight to free his daughter from servitude to sinister lawyer Caleb Barbour, who is beginning to show a disturbing interest in the girl’s burgeoning womanhood. It`s 1860’s Portland, Oregon and selfless young lawyer Matthew Penny agrees to help Worthy – especially after he supplies Matthew with some critical information about juror bribery. Penny’s efforts endure a number of hazards, including corruption, thuggery, and a disreputable beauty who preys upon lonely, wealthy men. When Barbour sexually assaults Roxanne Brown, a chain of events follows that presents Matthew with a moral dilemma. A commendable addition to historical fiction!

Reviewed by Susanne W., Steele Creek Branch

Feature See more titles featured in Books for Book Clubs

Feature See more titles featured in Historical Fiction

Add your comments about this book


Tampa

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Nutting, Alissa(2013)Recently Added Review
Tampa

A startling, way-too-honest novel which seems ripped from the headlines, Tampa is a novel that follows Celeste Price, a sexually charged 26 year old middle school teacher in Florida who becomes obsessed with one of her young male students. We are taken deep into her sociopathic mind as she plans every detail with lurid description, without regard to the consequences of her actions, yet knowing she is breaching the ethics that bind the teacher/student relationship. Deeply disturbing and darkly comic at times, told with explicit and well-researched insights into the mind of a sociopath, the story will shock, inform and entertain you.

Reviewed by Alex O., Main Library

Feature See more titles featured in First Novels

Feature See more titles featured in Books for Book Clubs

Add your comments about this book


Jackaby

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Ritter, R. William(2014)Recently Added Review
Jackaby
Young Adult

R.F. Jackaby sees crime details that others miss, and magical creatures. Abigail Rook arrives in New England fresh from a `dig` that never found fossils or dinosaur bones. She needs to find a job and cheap housing; when she literally runs into Jackaby, she finds both. Her test case is a serial killer who Jackaby is sure it isn`t human. The police of course scoff at his assessment because hey have encountered Jackaby and his methods before. They discount his claims, but admire his `solve` rate. This is the start of a fun series. Both fantasy and adventure lovers will enjoy this great character. Unless you have Jackaby’s extraordinary gift, you won’t be able to guess the ending!

Reviewed by Thea J., South County Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Fantasy

Feature See more titles featured in Serial Sleuths

Add your comments about this book


Choose a Page:    1  2  3  4
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Pinterest Tumblr Get Library RSS Feeds Bookmark and Share