HOLIDAY HOURS Thanksgiving - All libraries will close at 5 p.m., 11/26 and be closed all day 11/27. Learn more
Home

New Reviews
NOVELLO
Fiction
Non-Fiction
Teen Corner
Graphic Novels

Special Features


Book Search
Booklists
What to Read
Reading Resources
My Reading Log
Celebrity Reviews
Meet the Author
Submit a Review

Stay in the Loop


Email Newsletter
RSS Feed RSS Feeds
Podcasts Podcasts
Buy Books
About Us
Contact Us

readers_club on TwitterGet our Tweets


Recent Book Reviews

Page 1 of 4

This page is also available as an RSS Feed  RSS Feed.

1 of 4 pages
Imzadi

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

David, Peter(1993)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
Imzadi

The beloved Sci-Fi author Peter David tells the story of how William Riker and Deanna Troi first meet, the torrid romance of a young Starfleet officer falling in love at first sight while stationed on Betazed, and the intelligent future counselor of the Enterprise who at first rebuffed his advances. Over 50 years later an aging Riker remembers his love for Deanna, and enacts a daring time-travel plan to save her life. He remembers that first love, the first person to truly touch his heart, his Imzadi, and he will do anything to save her. In a franchise where the book tie-ins can be hit-and-miss, this is one of the best ever published.

Reviewed by Jonathan W., South County Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Get Your Nerd On

Add your comments about this book


The Who, the What, and the When: 65 Artists Illustrate the Secret Sidekicks of History

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Volvovski, Jenny, Rothman, Julia, and Lamothe, Matt(2014)Recently Added Review
The Who, the What, and the When: 65 Artists Illustrate the Secret Sidekicks of History

These are the stories of the pedestal, rather than the statue; the people who encouraged, financed, inspired and promoted the historic figures that children study in classrooms. Most of these subjects could inspire a fascinating full-length biography of their own (and a few have), but here they are granted no more than a single page and an artistic depiction of how their small part had a major impact. This is also a book for art lovers and those who love the art of the book, as the heavyweight paper stock and the clean design are a pleasure to peruse. The end result is that this book illustrates that small contributions create great achievements.

Reviewed by Sarah K., Morrison Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Biographies and Memoirs

Feature See more titles featured in E Pluribus Unum: The Many Voices of America

Feature See more titles featured in Story Behind the Story

Add your comments about this book


The Remarkable Courtship of General Tom Thumb: A Novel

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Rinaldi, Nicholas(2014)Recently Added Review
The Remarkable Courtship of General Tom Thumb: A Novel

This memorable novel draws from actual historical events and The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb, published in 1969. Charles Stratton aka, General Tom Thumb, is discovered by PT Barnum at the tender age of 4, and his act soon travels the Eastern United States and Europe. Charles leads a whirlwind life, and is married at 24 to Lavinia Warren, a “little person” like himself. In contrast to their lives we read of the horrors of the Civil War, which both shadow and involve them, in the form of threats to their lives and the involvement of Charles as a Union Messenger. Written from the perspective of both Charles and Lavinia, it is impossible not to become captivated by each of their lives and thoughts.

Reviewed by Annette N., Independence Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Famous People in Fiction

Feature See more titles featured in Historical Fiction

Add your comments about this book


Stay Close

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Coben, Harlan(2012)Recently Added Review
Stay Close

Megan carefully constructed a picture perfect life in an effort to hide her sordid past. But she’s bored with her “privileged” life and she longs to break out of the McMansion mold. To bring some excitement into her daily rut she visits her old hometown and runs into a mess of trouble. An old boyfriend who wants to resume their romance shows up, an obsessed detective investigating a cold case starts asking too many questions, and an old best friend reminds Megan of some loose ends she needs to tie up. Feeling cornered, Megan starts running from her past again but this time directly into the hands of danger. A page turner as only Harlan Coben can write, you’ll be breathless by the time you reach the end.

Reviewed by Alex O., Main Library

Author InterviewRead the Author Interview with Harlan Coben

Add your comments about this book


The 10 Laws of Enduring Success

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Maria Bartiromo with Catherine Whitney(2010)Recently Added Review
The 10 Laws of Enduring Success

Host and co-anchor of CNBC’s Closing Bell with Maria Bartiromo discusses The 10 Laws of Enduring Success in a depressed and ever-changing economy. Breaking down the 10 rules she has determined to be the most important for people today, she discusses how we can reach higher levels of happiness through non-financial success by simply using the attributes and passions we already possess and thinking outside the box to ultimately be successful in life. Drawing from her own experiences and interviews with well-respected world leaders and popular celebrities such as Condoleezza Rice, Oprah, Bill Gates and Goldie Hawn, Bartiromo’s book is an inspiring and uplifting read for those who think financial success is the only way to be happy in a competitive, consumerist America.

Reviewed by Alex O., Main Library

Add your comments about this book


These Broken Stars

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Kaufman, Amie and Meagan Spooner(2013)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
These Broken Stars
Young Adult

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe, who also happens to be the owner and designer of the spaceship Icarus. Tarver is a war hero who just wants to return to his post, not take part in the celebrity world aboard the Icarus. With a chance meeting, Lilac and Tarver are drawn toward each other. When tragedy strikes and the Icarus plummets from the sky; Lilac and Tarver find themselves sharing an escape pod. Upon crashing onto an uninhabited planet, Tarver and Lilac are forced to work together to survive. But everything is not as it seems on this planet and Tarver and Lilac will never be the same.

Reviewed by Angela A., Cornelius Branch

Add your comments about this book


Rude Bitches Make Me Tired:Slightly Profane and Entirely Logical Answers to Modern Etiquette Dilemmas

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Rivenbark, Celia(2013)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
Rude Bitches Make Me Tired:Slightly Profane and Entirely Logical Answers to Modern Etiquette Dilemmas

Celia Rivenbark has delivered one of the funniest books about etiquette. She will tell you how to deal with those situations that happen in the real world. Some examples include: what is the best way to split a check at a restaurant, how to behave on a plane, gym etiquette, how to deal with moms at a playground (or school) and how to handle your teenager. Some of my personal favorite pieces of wisdom include: never send a condolence email, do not smile for your mugshot, never buy cheap ice cream, read whatever you want and watch more TV. With advice like this the world will be a better place, how can it not be after spending so much time laughing.

Reviewed by Angela A., Cornelius Branch

Feature See more titles featured in Humor - Don't Leave Home Without It!

Add your comments about this book


As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Elwes, Cary(2014)Recently Added Review
As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride

A sentimental look at one of Hollywood’s most quotable movies, Elwes has drawn together all the principle players to compile an oral history of the making of The Princess Bride. The memoir is Elwes’s, but there are tons of sidebars and input from luminaries such as playwright and author William Goldman, director Rob Reiner and stars Robin Wright, Mandy Patinkin, Christopher Guest, Chris Sarandon, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Carol Kane and Fred Savage. Many, many stories are told of those stars who have passed, especially Andre the Giant, and Elwes doesn’t shy away from his own insecurities while filming his first big role. Absolutely recommended for those who can quote the movie line for line, and maybe even for those who can’t.

Reviewed by Sarah K., Morrison Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Biographies and Memoirs

Feature See more titles featured in Laugh Out Loud

Add your comments about this book


Unnatural Creatures

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Gaiman, Neil(2013)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
Unnatural Creatures
Young Adult

Full of darkness and mischief, these 16 stories run the gamut from whimsical and clever to downright terrifying. Fantasy maestro Gaiman writes an introduction to each story, written by such diverse talent as E. Nesbit, Saki and Diana Wynne Jones. Despite some of the stories being more than a century old, they each have a timeless quality, continuing to inspire chills, thrills and the occasional restless sleep. This tome is highly recommended for fans of Gaiman, Roald Dahl or Walter Moers.

Reviewed by Sarah K., Morrison Regional

Author InterviewRead the Author Interview with Neil Gaiman

Feature See more titles featured in Short Stories

Feature See more titles featured in Scary Horror and Sci Fi Thrillers

Add your comments about this book


Slow Cooking for Two: Basic Techniques Recipes

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Graubart, Cynthia Stevens(2013)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
Slow Cooking for Two: Basic Techniques Recipes

Graubart delivers great recipes that spark the imagination and make the mouth water! The book starts off with a few tips on using a slow-cooker, but the assumption is that you know what you`re doing and just need recipes for your 3.5 quart cooker (all the recipes are for the same size cooker); there`s even a section specifically for preparing a larger cut of meat two ways to help prevent leftover fatigue. Some of the recipes are a little elaborate and the dessert section is a little bizarre, flavor-wise, but the overall collection gives a lot to think about, and plenty of inspiration!

Reviewed by Sarah K., Morrison Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Cookbooks

Add your comments about this book


Choose a Page:    1  2  3  4
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Pinterest Tumblr Get Library RSS Feeds Bookmark and Share