HOLIDAY HOURS Thanksgiving - All libraries will close at 5 p.m., 11/26 and be closed all day 11/27. Learn more
Home

New Reviews
NOVELLO
Fiction
Non-Fiction
Teen Corner
Action/Adventure
African American
General Fiction
Historical Fiction
Horror
Humor/Satire
Inspirational Fiction
Literary Classics
Multicultural
Mysteries
Non-fiction/Biographies
Romance
Sci Fi/Fantasy
Short Stories
Southern
Suspense/Thrillers
Westerns

Graphic Novels

Special Features


Book Search
Booklists
What to Read
Reading Resources
My Reading Log
Celebrity Reviews
Meet the Author
Submit a Review

Stay in the Loop


Email Newsletter
RSS Feed RSS Feeds
Podcasts Podcasts
Buy Books
About Us
Contact Us

readers_club on TwitterGet our Tweets


Teen Corner Book Reviews

Listed below are our most recent book reviews for Teen Corner books. To view additional book reviews, choose a subcategory from the list on the left.

All of our latest reviews are available through RSS Feed  RSS Feeds.

Page 1 of 2


These Broken Stars

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Kaufman, Amie and Meagan Spooner(2013)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
These Broken Stars
Young Adult

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe, who also happens to be the owner and designer of the spaceship Icarus. Tarver is a war hero who just wants to return to his post, not take part in the celebrity world aboard the Icarus. With a chance meeting, Lilac and Tarver are drawn toward each other. When tragedy strikes and the Icarus plummets from the sky; Lilac and Tarver find themselves sharing an escape pod. Upon crashing onto an uninhabited planet, Tarver and Lilac are forced to work together to survive. But everything is not as it seems on this planet and Tarver and Lilac will never be the same.

Reviewed by Angela A., Cornelius Branch

Add your comments about this book


Unnatural Creatures

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Gaiman, Neil(2013)Recently Added Review
Visit the author's web site
Unnatural Creatures
Young Adult

Full of darkness and mischief, these 16 stories run the gamut from whimsical and clever to downright terrifying. Fantasy maestro Gaiman writes an introduction to each story, written by such diverse talent as E. Nesbit, Saki and Diana Wynne Jones. Despite some of the stories being more than a century old, they each have a timeless quality, continuing to inspire chills, thrills and the occasional restless sleep. This tome is highly recommended for fans of Gaiman, Roald Dahl or Walter Moers.

Reviewed by Sarah K., Morrison Regional

Author InterviewRead the Author Interview with Neil Gaiman

Feature See more titles featured in Short Stories

Feature See more titles featured in Scary Horror and Sci Fi Thrillers

Add your comments about this book


The Option

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Brown, Herman(2014)Recently Added Review
The Option
Young Adult

Gary dreams of being the starting quarterback of his high school football team. The current quarterback, Shane, is better than him, so Gary tries to accept that. But it does not help that Shane taunts Gary and makes him feel second-best. Shane has his own problems with drinking and driving, and supposedly his next offense will have him taken off the football team. What happens when Gary catches Shane, on film, in a compromising situation with alcohol? Will this be his chance to move into the top spot? This book contains play-by-play action while including current event issues like the use of social media, HIV, and divorce.

Reviewed by Jeanenne R., Matthews Branch

Feature See more titles featured in Young Adult Books for Boys

Feature See more titles featured in Page Turners for Reluctant Teen Readers

Add your comments about this book


The Girl from the Well

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Chupeco, Rin(2014)Recently Added Review
The Girl from the Well
Young Adult

A dead girl is seeking vengeance for the wrongful death given to her; she only seeks child killers, like the man who harmed her so long ago. From her perch on the ceiling, she realizes an evil spirit is upon her when a strange tattooed boy named Tark moves into the neighborhood. What is that evil lurking around him? Tark has no idea, he just knows his mom keeps trying to kill him. From the suburbs of America to the ancient shrines in Japan, this book will have you captivated. Oddly, you will be cheering for Okiku as she harms dark and evil people. If you enjoy Japanese horror, or just a good spooky ghost story, this is the book for you.

Reviewed by Maeve C., University City Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Apparitions, Spirits and Ghosts, Oh My!

Feature See more titles featured in 2014 Teens` Top Ten Nominees

Add your comments about this book


The Fall

Request from Library

Email this review to a friend.

Griffin, Bethany(2014)Recently Added Review
The Fall
Young Adult

Madeline Usher and her twin, Roderick are cursed--just like everyone else in their family. The Usher twins live in a house they cannot fully escape because of an evil curse put upon the family due to their ancestor’s terrible actions against others. Madeline is stuck in the house, day in and day out. She tries to escape, but can she? This dark and spooky tale is a retelling of Edgar Allen Poe’s The Fall of the House of Usher; it is not just for a young adult audience. It is also reminiscent of Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s eerie tale, The Yellow Wallpaper. This reimagined tale will have you sleeping with the lights on!

Reviewed by Maeve C., University City Regional

Feature See more titles featured in Scary Horror and Sci Fi Thrillers

Feature See more titles featured in 2014 Teens` Top Ten Nominees

Add your comments about this book


Choose a Page:    1  2
Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Pinterest Tumblr Get Library RSS Feeds Bookmark and Share