Help us better serve you by completing this short survey about our digital offerings Learn more
TitleAuthor/Illustrator   Advanced Search
Home - Find a Book - Listen to a Story - Discover Fun Activities
The BookHive

The BookHive > Find a Book> Concept: Intermediate (4th-6th grade)

31 book reviews found (page 1 of 7 pages). Narrow reviews by book audience:
All Babies Toddlers Preschool Primary (k-3rd grade) Intermediate (4th-6th grade) Adult/Parent
Book cover Welcome to Mamako: use your eyes! New Review
Aleksandra Mizielinska (2013) , under 40 pages
Audience: Primary (k-3rd grade), Intermediate (4th-6th grade), Adult/Parent
Category: Concept
(This book has outstanding illustrations)


Fans of "I Spy" and "Where’s Waldo" will delight in this truly original seek-and- find book. Mamako is a bustling town with packed subway cars, busy shopping centers, an active construction site, and more. This wordless picture book gives you a bird’s-eye view as the townsfolk go about their day from sunrise to sunset. Pick a character at the beginning, then follow him from page to page. Where are those three cats going in their long green car? What happens to the balloon that floats away from its owner? Who is that mysterious man in the striped socks? With so many hidden objects to seek and silly characters to follow, you might find a thousand different stories in this unique book.

Reviewed by: Rene / ImaginOn
If you liked this book, you may also like:

Book cover Chuck Close: Face Book
Chuck Close (2012) , 40-80 pages
Audience: Intermediate (4th-6th grade), Adult/Parent
Category: Biographies, Concept, Non-Fiction, Special Needs
(This book has outstanding illustrations)


This inventive autobiography tells the courageous story of Chuck Close, the famous painter of faces. From his early struggles with dyslexia and “face blindness” to paralysis later in life, Chuck Close describes how art education and the support of teachers and family helped him overcome his challenges. He has now become one of the most celebrated artists of his time. The book is based on an interview conducted by 5th graders from Brooklyn, New York. The most engaging parts of the book are the mix-and-match flip book pages that can be rearranged to create your own Chuck Close masterpiece!

Reviewed by: Rene / ImaginOn

Book cover Each Kindness
Jacqueline Woodson (2012) , 40-80 pages
Illustrated by E. B. Lewis
Audience: Primary (k-3rd grade), Intermediate (4th-6th grade), Adult/Parent
Category: Award Books, Concept, Multicultural, Read Aloud, Realistic Fiction
(This book has outstanding illustrations)


Maya is the new girl in class. She is teased about everything from the clothes and shoes she wears to the food she brings for lunch. Since she never comes to school dressed in new clothes, a classmate names her “never new”. Maya wants to be friends with her classmates, but nobody will play with her or learn the games she wants to teach them. One day their teacher discusses the ripple effect of kindness with the class. The students think they have a second chance to be kind to Maya, but they find her absent from school because she has to move away. This is a powerful story about remorse and lost opportunity. With its beautiful and subtle watercolor illustrations, this book is a gentle conversation starter for discussions about bullying.

Reviewed by: Sandy / South County Regional Library
If you liked this book, you may also like: Bully by Laura Vacaro Seeger

Comments from Readers

Daisy, Caden, Gerardo, age 11 from N.C.
This book was about a girl that was trying to make friends but it was very diffucult trying to being the new kid

Zach, Jeiel, Jesse, age 10 from NC
This book tells all about how to be kind and how to be respectful.This girl learned her lesson about to be kind to one another.

Sara, age 11 from NC
I really liked the illustrations. They looked realistic!

View all commments from readers

Book cover One Gorilla: a counting book
Anthony Browne (2012) , under 40 pages
Illustrated by Anthony Browne
Audience: Primary (k-3rd grade), Intermediate (4th-6th grade)
Category: Concept, Earth Friendly, Read Aloud
(This book has outstanding illustrations)


With extraordinary artistic detail and style, Anthony Browne explores a variety of primates in this beautiful, oversized counting book. Beginning with one gorilla and counting up to ten, readers will encounter the well- known chimpanzees and lemurs along with the lesser known mandrills and macaques. By including his self- portrait at the end, followed by a collection of human portraits representing many cultures, Browne makes a powerful statement about the connectedness of the primate family.

Reviewed by: Rene / ImaginOn
If you liked this book, you may also like:

Book cover Algebra and Geometry: Anything but Square!
Dan Green (2011) , 120-160 pages
Audience: Intermediate (4th-6th grade)
Category: Concept, Non-Fiction


Does math seem hard to you? How can you learn about math and have fun? Meet the gang who will help you learn what math is all about. Start out slow with the “Counting Crew” and pick up the pace as you are introduced to the “Cranium Crackers” and the “Graph Gang.” Do you want to learn more? It’s all here in Green’s book (part of the Basher Science Series) for you to learn about algebra and geometry. The math concepts are shown as cartoon-style characters that make learning about math fun for all.

Reviewed by: Jessica / South County Regional Library
Parental Notes


You are on page 1 of 7 pages

<< Previous 10 pages 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next 10 pages >>



Wizard Hat Crayons Book Lists Checked box
Harry Potter Quiz Coloring Pages Zinger's Booklists My Booklist


Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Pinterest Tumblr Get Library RSS Feeds Bookmark and Share